Method 1: You can permanently save the current video clip by pressing the orange button. A lock icon will appear on the left side of the screen. The current video file will be permanently saved and will not be overwritten.
Method 2: Files can be locked from the Playback Menu. See the FAQ which describes the Playback Menu Options.